I would have stopped at Day 3 gladly, but Day 4 came next…

So today is the third day of Lent.

This year I decided to give up coffee. Was going to give up pop, but I don’t drink it that much whereas consuming coffee has long become a daily occurrence for me.

The last time I gave up coffee was in college. Before then I never got into the habit of drinking coffee, but for some reason (perhaps as a right of passage? done out of necessity for pulling all-nighters?) college kids just start to do the coffee thing.

There was also a Starbucks right on campus, which was a total novelty considering that my hometown never had one until only recently. Plus they totally accepted “Case Cash” which is the extra money put on your student ID as part of the meal plan — to use at times when the cafeteria’s not open or to go to Subway, etc.

I didn’t realize how addicted I had become until about the 3rd and 4th days when I got a (lack of) caffeine headache.  I guess I didn’t think that the crappy vending machines at the art school really had coffee in their coffee drinks… I mean, I didn’t go to Starbucks every single day, but I did frequent the 55-cent-watery-powdered-coffee dispenser fairly often.

This year it’s not so bad.  I did have a bit of a headache today, but I can’t tell if it’s from the caffeine or something else since I was also kind of nauseated.

*******

Though I’m Catholic, I’m  interested in utilizing this time to exercise some self-control. I mean, I know that giving something up/not eating meat on Fridays represents sacrifice and things, but I would have to dig deep in the ol’ mental filing cabinet to really remember all the details and how-comes that go along with the Lenten season.

On that note, however, I am going to try to read through the entire Bible before Easter.

You may remember this post about my teenage “bucket list”… Well reading the Bible is one of the items I added to my grown-up version (which I have yet to publish).

I have the basic gist of it down from going to church every weekend throughout my childhood, but I’ve never sat down and actually read the book from start-to-finish. I’m not expecting to understand the entire Bible in just a few weeks — I just want to get a feel for the flow of it.

That’s why I’m reading through a Contemporary English version to start. I’ll graduate to the New Oxford Annotated Bible (with Apocrypha) when I’m really ready to be ultra-studious about it. (That’s the huge one with elaborate academic-sounding footnotes and the “missing” books in it.)

I’ve only made it through about 12 pages (I need to do about 21 per day to finish on time), but a lot more has happened than I expected/remembered.

-The creation of all things (check!)

-Adam and Eve get banished from the Garden of Eden (check!)

-Noah saves all the animals from certain death (check!)

-They all have a whole bunch of descendants when they’re like 300-600 years old (check!)

Abraham’s Adam’s wife, Eve, bears a son who kills the other son (check!)

-The evil, corrupt cities of Sodom and Gomorrah are destroyed (check!)

*******

It’s amusing the way it’s all put into layman’s terms. Like the first verses are simplified to pretty much read as follows:

“God decided to create birds. This was good. And that’s how birds were created.”

I get that there’s no way that we could possible know how God created birds, but it’s just funny how this version lacks the eloquence that the original versions surely had.

Anyway, I should probably head upstairs and get to readin’ if I’m ever going to catch up.

Leave a Reply

