my recent life summed up in a single image…

a DOUBLE rainbow

I took this picture right outside of my house last week.  Though someone else’s photo of this occurrence was featured in the newspaper the next day, I still feel as though this particular (doubley-awesome) rainbow was just for me.

I was allowed to run in the house to grab my camera, but moments later it was gone.

* * * * * * *

And now for the long version:

A lot’s been going on in the past few months.

Toward the end of December I moved back home to the Pittsburgh area.  Cleveland just wasn’t working out for me anymore.

I was able to transfer my job from the Cleveland store to the Greensburg one, with the help of my old boss who gave me a great recommendation.  So far I’ve been liking the new place and am even starting to make some outside-of-work work friends. It feels like back in the day when I first realized that I could call my school chums outside of class to hang out on a weekend.

Anyway, I was invited to share in the booth space at Craftique (in Greensburg) that is being rented out by some of my crafty coworkers.  I could put some work in shop as early as February 1, but haven’t gotten a chance to get myself together yet.

In addition to making arrangements for the consignment opportunities I mentioned in my last post, I’m working on some new pieces to display at the I Made It! Mine show this Saturday. It’s going to be at the new Glass Lofts in the Friendship neighborhood of Pittsburgh from 12-5 PM.  The goal is to gain some exposure for both causes: awesome handmade crafts, plus the brand new condominiums.

The Pageboy arrangement has been working well for me, but I do have to end my reign at the Hudson Sampler Store.

I was already planning to take down my booth because it would be increasingly difficult to maintain from afar, but I just got word that the entire shop’s closing down as well.  My stuff will be out of there on February 15, and I guess the rest of the vendors will be out by the end of March.

Oh well, I guess it just gives me an excuse to take road trip to Cleveland where I can visit some pals and also happen to see JIMMY EAT WORLD in concert. I’m also planning to pack in as many fun-filled activities as possible like shopping at Torrid (my favorite store that no longer exists in PA) and taking care of my local taxes (woo hoo!) for 2010. After that, who knows when I’ll go back.

As far as my personal life goes, I’ve been spending a lot of time with my family and just generally “settling in.” Right now I still have some boxes stacked in my parent’s unfinished living room that I need to address. Mostly craft stuff that is yet to be organized.

I’ve been slowly reconnecting with some of my friends from high school (and earlier). It’s nostalgic, yet strange. Like I have to meet them all over again even though we can pick back up on a years-old conversation without a problem.

Last week I spent hours on the phone catching up with one of my oldest friends with whom I haven’t spoken since about (geez, probably) 2003.

For some reason our conversation drifted towards wine (a topic about which we never previously spoken) and she pointed out that we “haven’t talked since we’ve grown up,” which was totally true. (Not that talking about wine makes you a grown-up, but you get what I’m saying…)

I mean, people go without speaking with each other for years all the time, but there’s something different about picking back up after missing the years where pretty much the most rapid, drastic changes tend to occur in one’s life.

Where do you even begin? I’m no good at being concise as it is, but it just makes me think about what a bulleted list of my life’s experiences would look like. Or a ‘top ten’ countdown.

Sorry, don’t have that list prepared for you today, but it’s something I’m thinking about…

* * * * * * *

On a lighter note, here’s a picture of my cat wearing a tiny Steelers bandanna that I made for her:

Skippy

black and yellow, black and yellow, black and yellow, black and yellow...

One Response to my recent life summed up in a single image…

  1. Amy says:

    Hey lady,

    I do believe your post had a little mention for me in it?! Well written, I must say (the whole thing!). It is absolutely true (and really crazy) how we’re pretty much able to pick back up where we left off, even five years later.

    Missing you,

    Amy

Leave a Reply

