Day 15/20: Saturday, May 1

Yesterday I played a Wii for the first time ever!

There’s one in the break room at work and I ended up joining some guys in my training class in a friendly game of tennis during lunch.  It was a lot of fun, but they kept laughing at my enthusiasm… They would  simply flick their wrists to “hit” the “ball,” while I leapt across the room involuntarily shouting action words like “shu-SHAW!” and “fu-CHAW!”

Even started to work up a sweat…

Anyway, yesterday was also an important milestone in my employment.  I got a 98% on the final exam!

Well, to back-track a little, we spent the first week of “class” learning about the features and benefits of all of our wonderful products.  During the second and third weeks we dove into the basics of the billing system, and had to pass the “final” in order to keep our jobs (which I did — hooray!).

Training’s not over yet, though.  We still need to work on troubleshooting and phone technique, a process which will continue through the entire month of May.

So far so good, though.  I’m liking the folks that I work with and it’s been cool to keep a schedule like a real person.

* * * * *

I’ve been thinking a lot about how I would like to proceed with this blog.  My first instinct was to “count up” the days to continue the numbering theme I started when I lost my last job.  But as you may have noticed, it gets a little awkward because I’m not sure if I should count the weekends or not (hence today’s 15-slash-20).

You see, being unemployed is basically a lifestyle… it doesn’t break for the weekends because every day is a weekend.  So I made every day count (at least towards the count-up).

The only real difference between Saturdays, Sundays, and the remaining days end up being the television line-up.

So there isn’t that immense joy you get at 4:30 on a Friday afternoon when everyone in the office gets a little crazy and counts down to the start of the weekend.  Heck, at my old job no one felt like accomplishing much of anything after lunch on Fridays. And forget about paydays…

Anyway, I guess my point is that now I have weekends like a regular person.  So I think I’ll stop worrying about numbering my blog titles, ’cause that requires too much thought.

I considered starting an entirely new blog so that I could change the name/theme, but I’m still digging this one for now.  Plus, there won’t be any links to update or new URL’s to remember.  Though I can’t guarantee that I won’t be swept away by a spectacular idea in the future.

We’ll cross that bridge when we get there…

One Response to Day 15/20: Saturday, May 1

  1. mom says:

    Hey write something,I enjoy reading about my baby girl! I like your style and sense of humor and hearing about your adventures o did I tell you how awesome I think you are? Love mom

Leave a Reply

