Day 98: Wednesday, January 20

Ugh, I just can’t seem to wake up today.

After I saw Ryan off to work at about 8AM, I fell back asleep.  I got up again a little bit before 10 (an hour ago) and I still feel like I’m in a haze, so I’m brewing some coffee.

While unemployed, I’ve been pretty successful with keeping a normal sleep schedule.  It’s really tempting for me to stay up late because I’ve always liked to, however, lately I’ve been  going to bed around 10-11 to wake up around 7:30.

Anyway, I’m moving slow like the buffalo, and need to kick it into first gear (or whichever gear allows you to go faster) so I can look like I did something before Ryan gets back home from work (he’s expecting to be done around 1pm).  Not that Mr. Afternoon Naps has any room to talk, but still, it’s nice not to be a hobo…

Should do something tangible like laundry or dishes, but first, an update:

This weekend I went to see Chicago with my friend, her dad, and her boyfriend, since they had an extra ticket.  My friend and I had actually seen it together freshman year, but I had forgotten quite a few of the songs.   Some of the numbers are kind of lame, but at leas they’re pretty brief so the entire musical does a good job at holding your attention.

Afterward, we (minus dad) hung out at her apartment for a while.  It was nice to spend that time with them because I haven’t really seen many of my friends lately.

I know that visiting pals doesn’t have to be expensive, but I guess I’ve been reluctant to contact them to plan a date since I’m trying not to spend too much money and I don’t want to make anyone feel awkward around me.  Plus I feel as though I don’t really have much to talk about lately.  Sure I’ve been working on my Etsy shop and Facebook fan page and trying to create some new jewelry, but overall, I’m not that exciting right now.

I need to look up some more cool free stuff to do around town.  The zoo has free admission on Mondays.  And I haven’t been to the art museum since they opened up the new wing.  If these activities sound appealing, let me know if you’d want to come along.

I have finished a couple of books since the start of the new year.  The fist was  The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous, & Broke by Suze Orman.  It’s filled with great advice and is written mainly in question-and-answer format, so it’s pretty easy to read.  Some things don’t apply to me quite yet (like the info on buying a house), but it will make for a good reference.

The other book was I Am Not Myself These Days by Josh Kilmer-Purcell.  It was a pretty interesting read, but I cannot imagine a single person to whom I would recommend this book.  It’s a memoir about this guy who works for an ad agency by day and participates in drag shows for extra money by night.  He designs his own outfits that all feature clear domes for boobs that he fills with water and goldfish.  He constantly gets drunk on vodka and meets this crack addict male prostitute who offers him sanctuary in his fancy penthouse.  They have parties, and drink, and smoke crack.  Then fight.  Then try to go clean.  Then drink and smoke crack again.  Then leave each other.

Luckily, I only paid two dollars for it at a used book sale a couple of years ago.  I thought the goldfish on the cover was pretty. ..

OOH! I did get a job lead from someone who graduated with me… She works for a company that does marketing campaigns for other companies.  She said that they periodically hire production artists to touch up photos and things for clients and wanted to pass my resume along to her boss.   It’s strange, though, because I actually applied for that job back in 2008.  Maybe with my job experience they’d be more likely to hire me now.  I don’t know, but I’m very grateful to get such an offer out of the blue.

Hopefully some more leads will emerge soon.

One Response to Day 98: Wednesday, January 20

  1. Gramma says:

    Good Luck on your job lead

    luv you

Leave a Reply

