Day 51: Friday, December 4

HAPPY 25th BIRTHDAY TO ME!

*****

This morning Ryan made me breakfast in bed.  Rather, he made breakfast while I was still asleep, brought it to the bedside, and I carried it into the living room to eat so I wouldn’t make a mess.

Hooray for eggs, sausage, toast, and orange slices!

During the day I worked on some more crafts, and got plenty of birthday wishes via phone and Facebook.

When Ryan got home from work, he took me out to dinner at the Melting Pot, which was very fun, especially since I’ve never had fondue before.

I didn’t realize this beforehand, but you actually cook your own meat there. Seems like a liability, but whatever.  I’m up for a challenge.

Well, first, you get salads and an appetizer-type round where you can dip veggies and bread (and apples??) in the cheese of your choosing.  Everyone gets their own color of skewers to minimalize confusion, and there’s a burner built into each table to enhance the overall feeling of danger and bad-assery.

You get to choose your own cooking “scheme” or “style” or something, which is basically the spices and liquid base for the entree portion of the meal.  I think we chose some Carribbean garlic lemon something.

Anyway, they take away your cheese and give you a new pot of your Cooking Style-Flavored Sauce/Broth with your platter of raw meat.  They must pre-heat the sauce in the back because you only need to leave your meat chunks and veggies in the broth for about 2 minutes.  Oh, and they also provide a plethora of dipping sauces like butter, sour cream & chive, teriyaki, fruit chutney, curry sauce, and honey mustard.

For dessert, you can choose from a variety of chocolate sauces like peanut butter, s’mores, caramel, Oreo, etc.  You get a plate with little chunks of strawberries, pound cake, brownies, Rice Krispie treats, cheesecake, and bananas to dip.  I think the chocolate-covered chocolate brownie was the best!

I even tried a banana chunk upon Ryan’s insistence.  As you may know, I detest the sight, sound, smell, and texture of bananas over any other fruit, but never actually ate one before.  Now I know for sure that I don’t like the taste of bananas as well.  Ew.

The waitress was very nice and knew it was my birthday, so put a little candle in the sliver of cheesecake.  Earlier she had asked what brought us into the restaurant, and promised not to do an embarrassing song and dance routine for me.

Overall it was a very enjoyable dinner, but it does take some time to get through all of the courses.  I think we were there for about 2 hours.

Good thing I like to eat!

One Response to Day 51: Friday, December 4

  1. Gramma says:

    The only time I had breakfast in bed at home, was one time only, Mothers’ Day and your Aunt Susan put a whole container of cottage cheese on a plate and with a big smile she served me, I do not remember how old she was but I do know she was quite young. The other times I had breakfast in bed is when I was in the hospital. LUCKY ME. LUV YA

Leave a Reply

