Day 35: Wednesday, November 18

Today was kind of an ADD sort of day where I did a little of everything.

Stayed in the house, though.

I made a lasagna!

*****

Some folks like songs to which they can relate.  I do enjoy those, however, I like singing along to absurd lyrics the most.

I mean, just absurd for me.  Not in a totally crazy They Might Be Giants way where the lyrics make no sense to anyone.

Like today, I listened to a lot of Third Eye Blind:

“Doing crystal meth will lift you up until you break…”

I mean, I guess that’s plausible, but I wouldn’t know firsthand.

*****

I used to get really upset and disappointed when I heard drug or alcohol references.  Like the day in high school I realized that the band name The Crystal Method sounds an awful lot like “crystal meth.”  Not that I even like that band, or could recall any of their songs.  But just the fact that they were in the public eye and setting a bad example.  Maybe they don’t even do drugs, I don’t know…

But then I realized that part of the beauty of songwriting is that you could tell a story about someone else that may have nothing to do with you.  So I lightened up a bit.

The Hold Steady does a lot of that.  Tell stories about other people’s messed up lives that the band members themselves may not be a part of.  So when I sing along I get to pretend, too — hooray!

One Response to Day 35: Wednesday, November 18

  1. Gramma says:

    i SEE NOTHING HAPPENING ON THURSDAY,YOU DIDNT UPDATE?

    OR YOU DID NOTHING EXCITING,

    MOST OF CHRISTOPHERS PHOTO’S WERE FAMILY I AM GLAD YOU LIKED THEM. I LIKED THE BACKGROUND HE HAD FOR THE
    FIST PAGE, THAT IS CHRISTOPHER

Leave a Reply

