Day 21: Wednesday, November 4

Today was JOB FAIR DAY.

In past news stories, other job fairs have drawn in so many people that hundreds who did not pre-register were turned away, while others had to park a half-mile from the site and wait in line for hours.

Well, this wasn’t that kind of job fair.  I was able to park right by the door.  There were about 20 booths and maybe a hundred (?) or so people in attendance (I’m pretty bad at estimating).

While we were waiting for the doors to open, the director of the job fair gave a little intro and told us to take advantage of the opportunity to network with as many people as possible.

So when I went in, I stopped by just about every booth, except for the Air Force and the Canadian Police Academy.

I found a couple of interesting leads, like this catalog company who is hiring for customer service work right now, but will have other openings to bid on in areas like graphic design or marketing in the future.  So I applied there and passed out my resume to maybe 5-6 other people.  (Plus, I need to apply to at least 2 jobs/week to qualify for unemployment.)

Most of the remaining companies were looking for insurance salesmen or for students to train at their school.  I didn’t take any candy or frisbees or pens from any of the booths, because I felt bad for taking stuff from a company that I really wasn’t interested in.

*****

The experience wasn’t a total waste because it gave me some practice time.  (I had never been to a job fair before this.)

I did make a few mistakes.  If you know me, though, these faux pas’ make sense…

For example, the Aflac guy asked if I’d be comfortable talking to business owners and CEOs and such, and I said “I guess” instead of a firm “YES I AM YOUR MAN!!”

But, there are a lot of different scenarios to which this question can refer.  I mean, if I know what I’m talking about and the customer is interested, I’m sure I can do it.  But if I’m trying to hound somebody to spend too much money on something that they don’t really want, then that’s a different story.   But I suppose that’s the point of being an insurance salesman, right?

(I’m kidding.  The best salespeople actually believe in their product and really want to help people…)

Anyway, I survived the day with no visible wounds.  Though the Mary Kay lady managed to rub peppermint- and gingerbread-scented lotion on my arms somehow.

I stuck around her booth for a few minutes to try and learn something new.  I had a few problems filling out the questionnaire, though, because I don’t really know my skin tone or if my eyes are “wide set” or not.  My not knowing anything about makeup didn’t deter her from explaining the whole investment process to me.  But I suppose  that’s the point of being a makeup salesman, right?

*****

I always wonder about the makeup issue for interviews.   I don’t wear suits every day , but I would wear one for an interview.  So would that same logic apply to makeup?

I am leaning towards “no” because I feel as though there shouldn’t be any surprises in how I look.  Also, I wouldn’t want to scare them by showing up in poorly-applied makeup that I learned how to do the morning of the interview.

Any thoughts?

One Response to Day 21: Wednesday, November 4

  1. Audrey Bartus says:

    I do not think make-up is a contributing factor when applying for a job, Looking neat and being well versed would be more meaningful. luv ya

Leave a Reply

